The Committee

The committee was elected in Oct 2017 if you have any questions then please contact us


 Rita Conneely 

Rita Conneely has been a member of LPIS for more than 5yrs. Brought up in London, she is dedicated to Irish communities & proud of the important role Irish people have played in Labour & the socialist movement.

She is a Labour Cllr for Kilburn, Brent & formerly served on the London Irish Cllrs Network exec.

Rita works in the charity sector- mostly tackling mental health concerns in Irish communities


Deputy Chairs

Tom Mc Garry 


Tom has been a member of the Labour Party for over twenty years and is Vice Chair of LPIS. He is also Political Education Officer of Ipswich CLP and a member of the Cooperative Party and Unite.

 Deirdre Costigan



 Chris Fegan



 Liz McShane


Liz joined the Labour Party in 1995 and has been a member of the LPIS since 1999 and has been on the Executive Committee since 2001. Liz is originally from Bangor Co Down and moved to London when she was 18 to study Spanish at UCL. She was elected a councillor in Haringey in 2014 and is currently re-standing in the 2018 local elections.

Disability Officer

Eamonn O'Tierney


Youth & Student


 Patrick Moule 

Trade Union Liason

Gerard McGrath


LGBT Officer

Richard Angell


Richard Angell is the LGBT officer of the Labour Party Irish Society. He currently represents Community Union on the TUC’s LGBT Committee and is a former National Secretary of LGBT Labour. Writes regularly on LGBT issues for a variety of publications.
Richard has family in Dublin, Shannon and Co Cavan

Membership Secretary

Daniel O'Loughlin

Daniel O'Loughlin is the Membership Officer of the Labour Party Irish Society and Chair of Basingstoke Labour Party.

Since emigrating from Ireland in 2004 he has worked tirelessly in promoting and campaigning for the Irish community within the Labour Party.
A Lecturer and a community organiser Daniel also manages LPIS busy Social Media Platforms. Always eager and happy to help  if you have any questions

 A native of Omeath Co Louth.

Community Liaison

Muhammad Al-Hussaini



Committee Members

Allison Roche

Matthew Doyle

Martin Whelton

Roisin Bennett








Honorary Presidents

 Lord Roy Kennedy 








 Baroness Margaret McDonagh